New Look 6002

by Sew Sarah

In about 2004 I bought two dresses which I still wear pretty regularly today. So I do need to wriggle and squeeze to get my bust in but look, I can still wear them. Judging from the pattern and style I think they are Lazybones dresses. I have been a little obsessed with finding a pattern to match. Then I found Retrospec’d dresses which make a similar style in some pretty awesome fabrics (see below).

  

Excuse me for the lack of technical terms but it is a sweetheart cross over neckline with a separate midriff piece. Each bodice part is separately lined so gives a lot of strength without boning.

After (many) hours Googling when I shouldn’t be, I found Gertie had made something similar here. Success you might think? Out of bloody print. After (many) hours of trawling eBay and Etsy, I had a duh moment. Sold for about five bucks as a out of print pdf pattern here.

Be warned. It has one million pages. Seriously. I had to spread everything out across our entire loung room. In some instances small pattern pieces are on five separate page. I think it is because it is just a pdf replica of a print pattern. I ended up laying it out, picking what I needed and turfed the rest. I self drafted the gathered skirt as it was much easier. 

Anyway, it was relatively easy to get together. I self-lined it and the inside is as neat as the outside. A rare score.

Changes:

The front section was too wide so pulled in the cross over section by about an inch. That did mean however the bodice at the side and back was a little snug. In usual form I didn’t do a toile.  Though I carefully fitted as I went. That served me well but once I added the security of a zip (rather than pinning), it pulled it a little tighter. 

Next time I would definitely need to do a FBA though unsure how I would do it on a pattern piece like this? Suggestions? I could add some extra fullness to the gathered part of the bottom and a little more depth to the curve at the bust??

Total cost:

PDF pattern – $4.29

Fabric – 2.5 metres poplin at Spotlight’s 30 per cent off sale a few months ago. Taking it down to approximately $27.10. I normally  squeeze a dress out of 1.8 metres but the self lining and the cross over bodice spreads out the patten pieces. I added a little extra to the length as well to balance out the bodice.

Would I make this again?

Totally, with the adjustments mentioned above.

   

 

